Interviews

Interview: Aditi Chopra of The Imperfect Series

The super-talented Aditi Chopra is on my blog talking about… Well, talking about what I wanted her to talk about 🙂 . Much thanks, Aditi!

In your latest book, out of the three women which one is the closest to your heart and why?

Great question, I would say out of all the three heroines, Nikki Desai’s character in House of Love is closest to my heart. Nikki is an ambitious real estate agent and is very successful and efficient at what she does. Her brother wants to learn from her and appreciates her professionalism. Nikki has built a good client base in the city of Dallas and doesn’t compromise with her career. Incidentally, I have always been career focused myself, hence the connection is strong.

What was your inspiration behind these stories?

For good or bad, I have always been trying to be a perfectionist and also expecting that same behavior from others. However, with time, I have realized humans cannot be perfect. I remember distinctly, one of my seniors had said to me – don’t let perfect stand in the way of good! These three stories revolve around imperfections in contemporary relationships.

If you could rewrite one of these stories, what would you change and why?

You know, a writer always has this feeling when they look at their work later on that they could have done things differently. I too get this feeling from time to time especially since I have the tendency to be a perfectionist. But then, I always tell myself, there was a reason the story was written the way it was and I don’t need to change it! With that thought, I feel content with my work. Of course, I do take input on the craft of writing and keep improving that over time.

If any one of your books had to be turned into a movie, which one would you want it to be and who would you cast in the lead roles?

Wow, a great question! Who wouldn’t want their book to be turned into a movie? I would have to say my debut story; LOST IN LONDON is a great candidate for a Bollywood movie. It is my definition of true love and has all the right ingredients for a movie. I would cast Ranbir Kapoor as Rahul, Deepika Padukone as Priya and Bipasha Basu as Mona.

What are you working on next?

Right now, I am working on another contemporary romance series which will have three distinct stories revolving around destiny. Destiny plays a big part in our love lives, career and so on and so forth. There is a certain romantic aspect to how destiny changes our life path at times. I will be exploring the role of destiny in the lives of three different couples and hopefully give readers something fun to read.

Leave a Reply

