Book Reviews

Book Review: The Madras Affair by Sundari Venkatraman

The Blurb:

Sangita Sinclair was not always this successful & passionate lady, heading the NGO “Penn Urimai” for downtrodden, abused and homeless women….

When Sangita catches the eye of Gautam Sinclair she is a simple, homely girl; utterly unaware of her charms & capabilities. She has the devil’s own time in overcoming her inhibitions, hesitation, and her family’s orthodox and outdated rules before recognising her love for Gautam.

Will Gautam be able to solve Sangita’s Dilemma or will she be forever trapped in her past?

My Review:

Okay, before I start my review, I’d like for you to see the superb cover of this cover. I am pretty sure that you are going to love it! So here you go!

The front cover:

TMACOVER-FINALfront

The full cover:

TMACOVER-FINAL

The Madras Affair came to me when it was Sangita’s Dilemma and I am thankful to Sundari Venkatraman for giving me a chance to beta-read this scintillating, sensual, and sensible book.
Like all of Sundari’s books, this one isn’t just a passionate romance but also carries a strong social message. And like all her books, Sundari brings out the evils of society without being preachy.
The story brings forth the plight of a woman abused not just physically but also mentally, emotionally. As a society, our speed in being judgemental, more so of women, knows no bounds. Seldom do we stand and think about the victim. The story shows how Sangita suffers and loses her courage to fight, because the society doesn’t feel that to be right.
Enter Gautam, the handsome, suave, and blue-eyed hero, who manages to steal not just Sangita’s heart but the readers’ too! He is the quintessential knight-in-the-shining-armour for Sangita and Sandeep, who shows her and the world that Sangita has every right to be happy.
What I liked the most about how Sangita’s character is written is the way her vulnerabilities have been shown. A woman who goes through so much is bound to be filled with trepidation. Sangita’s character is very relatable, because she may not come across as a woman ready to lift up a sword and fight for all evils done to her but she doesn’t even come across as a woman who is meek and has no self-esteem. Gautam is that dose of hope, of faith, of a dream that makes you believe in a happily-ever-after. Although the secondary characters have a very predictable relationship with the protagonists, I still found the story to be a definite page-turner.
As a beta reader, I had the chance to read this story before it took its final form. And I must say that I’m impressed and happy by how Sundari has retained her ideas while making sure that she incorporates my feedback. There were language edits that I had pointed out as a part of my review then, and I see that Sundari has diligently corrected those.
There are some stories that you want to go back to again and again and again. The Madras Affair is definitely on that list for me!!!

Disclaimer: I got this book from the author for a beta-read and my review is my honest opinion about the book.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Madras Affair by Sundari Venkatraman

  1. Awesome!!! Thank you so much Nikita Jhanglani. So happy to see that you enjoyed reading my book 😀

Leave a Reply

