Book Reviews

Book Review: Pradyumna, Son of Krishna by Usha Narayanan

The Blurb:
‘I see a dark future that makes me quake,’ Devarishi Narada said. ‘One of these newborns will ravage the world and erase the name of Krishna from the face of the earth.’

As the world trembles on the threshold of Kali Yuga—4,32,000 years of unprecedented evil—it waits for a saviour to rise.

Meanwhile, in the dark netherland of the asuras, the meek Vama shudders as he learns that he is actually Pradyumna, the son of Krishna. And that his journey has just begun.

From the asura kingdom to Dwaraka and then Kurukshetra, destiny forces him to battle monsters, angry gods and blazing weapons, and overpower his own weaknesses. Will he be able to rise to the challenge in time to save the world? Or is he the destroyer prophesied by Narada?

Pradyumna is the gripping saga of the rise of this mighty, swashbuckling hero whom all of humanity awaits.
My Review:
I love reading mythology. I believe mythology is like this huge jigsaw puzzle, some of pieces of which are very commonly known, some rarely known, and a lot more that are barely known. Whenever I read mythology, especially some barely known mythology, I am intrigued to read how the unknown pieces will fit in with the known ones.
I hadn’t heard about Pradyumna before this and therefore my curiosity about the character and the story was high.
The story starts off well. It does good in spiking up your curiosity about Pradyumna then and his circumstances. The story moves ahead at a decent pace, revealing all about Pradyumna, his reality, and his heroic strengths in an eventual manner. Pradyumna’s story and the characters that are introduced along with it have been weaved with the known mythology really well. This was one thing that I absolutely loved about the way Usha has written her book.
Towards the end, however, the focus of the story shifts from Pradyumna. Not that the story becomes less intriguing or less interesting in any way. But considering that the book is supposed to be about Pradyumna, I felt that at least how events in the lives of his loved ones impacted him should’ve been brought out a little more strongly.
For example, the book ends with an incident that has Krishna at the centre stage. I would’ve liked to see how those final words impacted Pradyumna (to know more, please please do read the book).
I am, however, going to reiterate here that this doesn’t make the story any less intriguing. The story is filled with episodes of very interesting episodes of mythology and Usha’s writing is elegant.
Usha was a celebrated author much before I heard about her, her first book,The Madras Mangler, steadily climbing up the bestseller charts. After reading Pradyumna, I know why.

And now, for the icing on the cake! The book has a sequel too, which Usha has already started work on! 😀 😀 😀 Looks like the answers to all my questions lie in there 😉 I just cannot wait for it!

I give this book a rating of 4.5/5.

Disclaimer: I received this book from the author in exchange of an honest opinion. The review above is my honest opinion of what I thought about the book.

One thought on “Book Review: Pradyumna, Son of Krishna by Usha Narayanan

  1. Thank you for this heartwarming review, Nikita! A perceptive reader like you is an author’s dream. Working hard on Book 2 to make it even bigger and better than the first one!

Leave a Reply

