Book Reviews

Book Review: Metro Diaries by Namrata

The Blurb:
Love is one of the most amazing feelings on this earth, one that makes you the most powerful person or the most helpless person in a split second. These stories capture those feelings of despair, longing, love, lust, desire, want, dejection and admiration to create déjà vu. Hold onto your hearts as you flip through these pages and take a walk down the memory lane, as “Metro Diaries” will revive your innermost feelings and imbibe in you the magic of love. Touching, amusing and deeply moving, Metro Diaries – Love Classics are tales that will hold you from start till end.

My Review:
The author’s bio says that Namrata’s wish is to make love the universal language. Well, the anthology manages to emphasize and accomplish that quite well. Twenty stories, each conveying the same message. Most of the stories strike the right chord in your heart, and some leave you speechless. At the end of it, the stories left me filled with love and hope; most of the stories are awe-inspiring 😉 While I loved a lot of stories from this collection, my favorite one is Then, Now and Forever.
Somewhere in the middle of reading this book, I had a feeling that it will eventually turn monotonous. There are some stories where I did have to make an effort to read. Not because the stories were bad, but because somewhere in between the monotony did set in. However, it is certainly not something that bores you. The editing also was a bit laxed; if you are a grammar and language Nazi, it is a bit disconcerting.
As a writer myself, though, I can anticipate the amount of effort that would’ve gone in to the making of this book, and I have to say it is applause worthy! Good work there, Namrata!

My rating:
I’m going to give this book a 4/5.

Disclaimer:
I received a copy of this book from The Book Club in exchange of a honest review. The views expressed herein are solely my own.

Leave a Reply

