Book Reviews

Book Review: Only Wheat Not White by Varsha Dixit

The Blurb:
What if following your heart means failing your family? 

Eila Sood leaves India for the U.S., hoping to unite her family and mend fences with her estranged older sister. She soon learns that her sister’s intercultural marriage, which outraged their parents, has hit rock bottom. To help pay the bills, Eila accepts an accounting job at a strip club, working for the fascinating yet infuriating Brett Wright. 

As their friendship and mutual desire builds, Eila chooses keeping family peace over following her heart. After Brett misinterprets her fears and accuses Eila of prejudice, his ex-girlfriend steps in to offer solace. 

Eila realizes that whichever choice she makes will rip her life apart. What will Eila choose? Love of her life or a life ruled by tradition? 

Fall in love with love, in this steamy saga from a best selling romance author. 

My Review:
Only Wheat Not White definite has to be one of the funniest books I’ve read in recent times. Not just that, I absolutely loved the way the story unfolds. I just couldn’t put this book down. I normally have a set page count that I read in a day, so that I’m not digressed from my other tasks. With this one, however, everything else was on a standstill. I finished it in 3 days flat, which is the fastest I’ve finished a book recently. Wow, that does day something about the book, doesn’t it?
There isn’t much about this book that you won’t like, except for some typos here and there. The story is paced well and sprinkled with a good amount of humor. I read this one while traveling; after I while I gave up thinking that I was surrounded by a sea of people and laughed my heart out. Not a chance that you won’t fall in love with the characters!
The absolute favorite, of course, is Mr. Brett Wright, hands-down irresistible. But I loved every character of this book. The portrayal, I mean. However, Cate’s character is left open-ended in the end, which I think was a risk, a good one though. Such open-to-interpretation ends always add an element of mystery to the story, but I think here a shadow of incompleteness looms around.
I picked up this book because I fell in love with the cover the minute I saw it and the title is oh so intriguing. But what bowled me over was the quirky dialogues and the pace of the story. If you are a romance buff, this is one book that you would definitely love to read!

My Rating:
I’ll give this book a 5/5.

Disclaimer:
I received a copy of this book from The Book Club in exchange for a honest review. The views expressed herein are solely my own.

Leave a Reply

