Book Reviews

Book Review: Soul Warrior (The Age of Kali) by Falguni Kothari

The Blurb:

Twisted myths. Discretion advised. Fight fate, or succumb to destiny? In the dark Age of Kali, the Soul Warrior alone stands guard over the Human Realm, protecting its denizens from evil-willed asuras or demons. When a trick of fate appoints him guru to a motley crew of godlings, he agrees to train them as demon hunters against his better judgment. Suddenly, Lord Karna is not only battling the usual asuras with sinister agendas, but also rebellious students and a fault-ridden past. Spanning the cosmic realms of mythic India, here is a tale of a band of supernatural warriors who come together over a singular purpose: the salvation of Karna’s secret child.

My Review:

This book certainly is one of the finest I’ve read. I’ve always liked to read mythological fantasy/fiction because it is a mind-boggling pleasure to see how an author’s imagination can give a new direction to the stories we’ve grown up listening. This book without a doubt does complete justice to my expectations of it.

The concept and ideation is beautiful and very well-written as is the treatment of the story and the various characters. In the Mahabharata, Karna’s character has always been the most intriguing to me. I remember reading the story of Karna and the Sun God as a child, one of my first introductions to this great epic. My child mind has held Karna in a high regard ever since. So there wasn’t the question of whether I should be reading this book or not. And I am mighty pleased that I did. A love story for Draupadi and Karna most certainly is the icing on the cake, as is the impeccable use of vocabulary.

But wait! I haven’t spoken about the cake yet, have I? The star of the story is it’s impeccable and well-woven humor and sarcasm. I couldn’t stop laughing and/or being amusef throughout, as I read this book. The relationship between Yahvi and Karna is beautifully potrayed and gave me goosebumps at some times, and tears at others. Karna’s relationship with the rest of the girls, especially Amara are also shown brilliantly.

Falguni has done complete justice to every character, be it Karna, Dev-Il, or the Delinquent Six (there are many more names but listing them would qualify as a spoiler alert, so I shall refrain). And of course, Yama-the jazziest of the lot!

I’m pretty sure the Celestials up there are supremely impressed with Falguni, even as Karna celebrates with a Soma on the rocks!!!

Mytho-fantasy may or may not be your genre, but I’d suggest to not miss reading this one. I, for one, cannot wait for the next installment to come out.

My Rating:

This one gets a certain 5/5.

Disclaimer:

I received a PDF copy of this book from the The Book Club as a part of their blog tour for Falguni Kothari’s Soul Warrior, in exchange of a honest review. This review is solely my personal opinion of this book. There is no monetary exchange involved herein.

One thought on “Book Review: Soul Warrior (The Age of Kali) by Falguni Kothari

Leave a Reply

