Book Reviews

Book Review: A Dog Eat Dogfood World

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author and The Book Club in exchange of an honest review. The views expressed herein are solely my own and there has been no monetary exchange involved.

 

A Dog Eat Dog-Food World 

by 

C. Suresh

Fablery Publications 


So the book is about marketing, I thought. Non-fiction then, which meant a no. Because, I seriously doubt my attention capabilities when I have to read something like this. (Okay, I know I’m supposed to be working on it and I am, but…) So basically I’d decided I wasn’t reading this one.And then came The Book Club’s sign-up form for reviewing this book. And I ignored it, like I had it and all the praise surrounding it for all this time. Suresh is a member of the Facebook group, For Writers By Authors, and I am a member there too. Intelligent guy, I knew. But then…! However, the name of the book stayed. Dog food and dog world and marketing, what was this all about? Eventually, I gave in and signed up for the review. Free hai book, which meant one less reason to whine about if I did not like it.

Now I am being totally totally totally honest when I say this. This is one book that I wished I would’ve bought instead of reading a free copy, it is that good! (Okay, maybe I am not able to put this into words properly, but I hope you get the gist).
The story is simple and the characters, you will find them all sitting right there in your office if you just looked around. The way the author shows how the smallest of ideas can give path-breaking results is funny and inspiring at the same time.
Lines like, “People with no money knew what to do with the money, which they did not possess, but people with money seemed merely to be burdened by it. Something was seriously wrong with the disbursal system in Heaven.” and “He realized that even rank idiocy could sound like distilled wisdom if dressed up in learned language.” make you laugh, while you nod at the relatability of it.

Certainly not as boring as I’d expected it to be. It isn’t one of those books where you are on the edge of your seat but you still want to know what happens next.

My only little complaint with this one is the use of superfluous language in certain places. I am a strong supporter of the practice of including some difficult words in a piece of text, but it shouldn’t be something that makes reading difficult for an average reader. Such prose can really turn the reader off!

All said, how many times have you wished that you’d bought a book, right when you are in the middle of reading it’s free copy? Doesn’t happen too often, does it? So go buy this one! Show some love to the author and give yourself a gift that you are going to cherish forever. Because this is one of those books that you can pick up every time you need a laugh!

I give this book a 4/5.

 

Grab your Copy @
ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

 

Fiction has been an addiction but the need to make a living took Suresh through Chemical Engineering and a PGDM at IIM-Bangalore and, from thence, to a long 16 year stint in the area of finance with specific expertise in fertilizer subsidies and a further two years as consulting expert in the same area. That, in his words, about sums up the boring part of his life, except for the people he was privileged to meet.Otherwise, he can be described as a mess of contradictions – a bookworm but avid trekker; alone but never lonely; enjoys solitude but loves company; lazy but a perfectionist, the litany is endless. Trekking, which side-tracked him from the writing for which he quit his job, is a major passion and he does, at least, one trek in the Himalayas every year in addition to numerous local treks.

He reignited his passion for writing with a fairly popular blog www.jambudweepam.blogspot.in. The blog has been rated among the Top 5 humour blogs in India, twice in succession – in 2014 and 2015 – by BlogAdda, and has also been listed third among the Top Humour Blogs by Baggout.

He also has a short story published in a collection “Uff Ye Emotions” and has edited and written a novelette in an ebook anthology “Sirens spell danger”

Stalk him @


       

Follow us # +Pinterest

Follow The Book ‘s board A Dog Eat Dogfood World on Pinterest.

This Tour is Hosted by 

We Promote So That You Can Write 

 

One thought on “Book Review: A Dog Eat Dogfood World

Leave a Reply

