Book Reviews

Book Review: Knitted Tales by Rubina Ramesh

Disclaimer: If you’ve bought the book, you will know that I am the proofreader of this very amazing anthology. My review, therefore, is based solely on my opinion of the draft I received from Rubina for proofreading.

Rubina Ramesh is a star by herself in the online book marketing world. A lot of best-selling authors, reviewers, and bloggers will swear by her managerial skills and the diligence with which she conducts blog tours and promotes authors. 

So when Rubina Ramesh decides to come out with one of her own works, there sure is a lot of anticipation and excitement in the air. I’m sure that Rubina must’ve felt this to, for I’ve known first hand how concerned she was about meeting the expectations. 

I’ve told this to her in person already and I’m going to shout it out loud if need be, that Rubina Ramesh take a bow for the fabulous job you’ve done. 

When a book is released, it is the product of the cumulative efforts of a lot of people. Being a proofreader, however, is a marvelous opportunity to assess a writer’s individual ability. When I received Rubina’s draft for proofreading, I was absolutely thrilled. It was a breezy task, reminding me why I love proofreading so much. If you read the acknowledgement, Rubina thanks me for burning the midnight lamp. Let me tell you that her writing and sensible use of vocabulary was the fuel that kept my lamp burning. Rubina’s was one of those projects that I thoroughly enjoyed working on. 

Rubina’s way of storytelling is bound to floor you. Every story in her anthology has an unpredictable end that comes as a blow to the reader, taking you by awe. She hits the nail exactly on spot. She knows where to limit her descriptions, where to elaborate, and at which point should her story take that turn. The vocabulary used is a decent balance of simple and complex, just like how I personally prefer it to be. This one’s a certain page-turner!

Every story in this bouquet has its own charm, be it Betrayal, A Secret in their Closet, or Forgive Me, I Have Sinned. But my personal favorite would be The Missing Staircase. That shift in the way you’ve thought of the story all along that happens at the end is mind-blowing.

My Rating:

I am going to give this book a 5/5.

One thought on “Book Review: Knitted Tales by Rubina Ramesh

  1. Thank you so much, Nikita, for this review. You knew my work from its very inception. You have equally helped me to shape up, crop out and add-in. My works owe a lot to you too. A wonderful person to work with.

Leave a Reply

