Book Reviews

Book Review | The Evil Twin? by P. G. Van

For a very long time, after reading Fifty Shades of Grey, I wasn’t able to decide if erotica was a genre I’d like to read a lot of. I’d read another book a little after I read FSOG and, if I had to describe my experience of reading that book in one word, it was nauseating!

(Personal opinion: Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed were far better in my opinion!)

Decidedly, I stayed away from erotica. Until The Book Club (TBC) came up with this book P. G. Van, Destiny Decides. I don’t remember why I took up this book for review, maybe because of the cover, but I sure remember my experience of reading it. The book was unputdownable and the perfect dose of romance. You can read my review of this book here. The lazy me hasn’t gotten around to reading the sequel yet, but it shall do that too, very soon!!!

So, coming back to The Evil Twin? my choice was already made when TBC sent out review forms for this book. And once again, I wasn’t disappointed.

Before I tell you about what works for this book and what doesn’t, take a look at the absolutely scintillating cover of this book!

the-evil-twin-by-p-g-van_with-watermark

Too hot, isn’t it?!

The Evil Twin? is the story of Vinnie whose chance encounter of a man becomes life-altering for her. Reyan becomes the knight-in-shining armor for Vinnie and her family, and before she knows it, Vinnie is head-over-heels in love with the man who was a handsome stranger only a short while ago. And then, she comes to know that there is more than meets the eye.

In the middle of all this, Vinnie keeps meeting strangers who come up to her and address her Nandini. Who is Nandini and how is she connected to Vinnie? The answer to this question threatens to throw apart all that Vinnie has believed to be true so far.

The story is about how Vinnie comes to terms with the unexpected turn of events in her life.

The story moves at good pace, becoming a page turner soon enough. The mystery angle of the story has been dealt with well, as is the angle of romance and passion. The passion bit wasn’t overdone in any way, and was in fact a welcome change from the seriousness of the other angles.

The twist in the end justifies the title in a way that I hadn’t imagined and this surprise elements definitely makes every second spent reading this book worthwhile.

The secondary characters in the story are well placed too, and have some fun scenes woven around them.

The language and vocabulary used is good but I thought the book could have been edited a little better.

My Rating:

I’m going to give this book a 4/5!

DisclaimerI got a review copy of this book from The Book Club and the author as a part of the blog tour for this book, and I’d like to thank them for the same. The views expressed in this post are solely my own; there has been no monetary transaction involved in this.

Leave a Reply

